Giro d'Italia

The latest news and race results from Italy's Grand Tour, covering everything from the start lists to the race winners.

Egan Bernal on the podium of the 2021 Giro d'Italia with Damiano Caruso and Simon Yates
(Image credit: Getty Images)

Dates: Saturday, May 6 to Sunday, May 29 2022
Stages: 21
Length: 3410.3km
Start: Budapest (Hungary)
Finish: Verona
TV Coverage (UK): Eurosport, GCN+

The Giro d'Italia is the opening race of the trio of Grand Tours on the cycling calendar, with the Tour de France and Vuelta a España coming later in the summer.

In 2022, the race begins in Hungary, with three stages taking place in the central European country. Hungary's capital city Budapest will feature on the opening day, with the second stage an individual time trial. 

A travel day follows the opening three days, before resuming in Sicily with the first summit finish of the race up Mount Etna. Various days for sprinters and punchers alike will follow thereafter, until stage nine and the brutal climb to Blockhaus. 

The next major summit finish and bulk of climbing comes on stage 15 up to Cogne, after more sprint stages and a few mountain days that could potentially shake up the order of the GC. 

Riders will contend with a brief navigation into Slovenia for the second year in a row, perhaps in an attempt to attract riders such as Tadej Pogačar (UAE Team Emirates) and Primož Roglič (Jumbo-Visma). However, neither of the two riders are scheduled to line up for the Giro, as they set their sights on the Tour de France. 

Stage 20 to Marmolada on Passo Fedaia sees two passes over 2,000 metres, including the Passo Pordoi at 2239m. The Passo San Pellegrino is the first of the three climbs at 1,918 metres. 

The final stage of the race is then decided against the clock in fair Verona. This isn't a standard final day TT though, as the riders have to negotiate the 5km climb of Torricella Massimiliana before the victor is crowned with the Maglia Rosa. 

Giro d'Italia 2022 route

Giro d'Italia

(Image credit: Getty Images)

Here is the route of the Giro d'Italia 2022, For more information on each stage, go to our route page.

Stage one, Fri May 6, Budapest - Visegrád 195km hilly
Stage two, Sat May 7, Budapest - Budapest 9.2km ITT
Stage three, Sun May 8, Kaposvár - Balatonfüred 201km flat
Rest day
Stage four, Tue May 10, Avola - Etna 166km mountain
Stage five, Wed May 11, Catania - Messina 172km flat
Stage six, Thu May 12, Palmi - Scalea (Riviera del Cedri) 192km flat
Stage seven, Fri May 13, Diamante - Potenza 198km hilly
Stage eight, Sat May 14, Napoli - Napoli 149km hilly
Stage nine, Sun May 15, Isernia - Blockhaus 187km mountain
Rest day
Stage ten, Tue May 17, Pescara - Jesi 194km hilly
Stage 11, Wed May 18, Santarcangelo di Romagna - Reggio Emilia 201km flat
Stage 12, Thu May 19, Parma - Genova 186km hilly
Stage 13, Fri May 20, Sanremo - Cueno 157km flat
Stage 14, Sat May 21, Santena - Torino 153km hilly
Stage 15, Sun May 22, Rivarolo Canavese - Cogne 177km mountain
Rest day
Stage 16, Tue May 24, Salò - Aprica 200km mountain
Stage 17, Wed May 25, Ponte Di Legno - Lavarone 165km mountain
Stage 18, Thu May 26, Borgo Valsugana - Treviso 146km flat
Stage 19, Fri May 27, Marano Lagunare - Santuario Di Castelmonte 178km hilly
Stage 20, Sat May 28, Belluno - Marmolada,167km mountain
Stage 21, Sun May 29, Verona - Verona 17.1km ITT

Past winners of the Giro d'Italia

2021 - Egan Bernal (Col) Ineos Grenadiers
2020 - Tao Geoghegan-Hart (GBr) Ineos Grenadiers
2019 - Richard Carapaz (Ecu) Movistar Team
2018 - Chris Froome (GBr) Team Sky
2017 - Tom Dumoulin (Ned) Team Sunweb
2016 - Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team
2015 - Alberto Contador (Esp) Tinkoff-Saxo
2014 - Nairo Quintana (Col) Movistar Team
2013 - Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team
2012 - Ryder Hesjedal (Can) Team Garmin-Barracuda
2011 - Michele Scarponi (Ita) Lampre-ISD
2010 - Ivan Basso (Ita) Liquigas-Doimo
2009 - Denis Menchov (Rus) Rabobank Pro Team
2008 - Alberto Contador (Esp) Astana
2007 - Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Liquigas
2006 - Ivan Basso (Ita) CSC ProTeam
2005 - Paolo Savoldelli (Ita) Discovery Channel
2004 - Damiano Cunego (Ita) Saeco
2003 - Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Saeco
2002 - Paolo Savoldelli (Ita) Index-Alexia Alluminio
2001 - Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
2000 - Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Albacom